Festival 61: new discoveries

hugging an English oak, Hampstead HeathThe 61st edition of Festival of the Trees is live at Via Negativa. Bloggers from Denmark to India to Australia made art, investigated natural history, reported on conservation issues, took photos and wrote poems in response to the suggested theme, “New discoveries.” Special features of this, our 5th anniversary edition include a spotlight on India, a section on trees as teachers and exemplars, and several efforts aimed at putting a face on the forest. Check it out.

About Dave Bonta

I'm the author of several small, odd books, including Breakdown: Banjo Poems, Words on the Street: An Inaction Comic, and Odes to Tools, but my real work is at my literary blog Via Negativa. I'm the editor and publisher of Moving Poems, a webzine showcasing videopoetry and poetry film. And I've been a dedicated if somewhat unorthodox homebrewer for more than 20 years.

Posted on July 1, 2011, in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am impressed and humbled by this amalgamation of information and poetry and video about trees, and I have learned some things.
    I could not help though but to think about a poem that is part of my yoga chapbook, “Viloma Pranayama.” It records a Buddha-like experience I had under a kaffirboom tree. I should learn this tree’s proper name, particularly since I know, via my mother’s knowledge of Africaans, the offensive meaning of this common name. I should send the poem to you some time.

Leave a Reply

